Bridals: Little Sister

Untitled-1

I can truly thank my sister for the journey I am currently on… Matt & I got a DSLR camera in May & I shot her engagements the same month. After that I fell in love with the art of photography. I have always been a creative person & photography has been a great mix of creativity as well as customer service. Two things that I am very passionate about.

My sister was generous enough to put her trust in me for her engagements as well as her bridals. Both were very big learning experiences for me. I had this big dream of heading out to some lavender fields for her bridals. So… my best friend/assistant for the night, little sister & I packed up & drove out to Mona, Utah to take lavender field photos. Lesson number one; the lavender fields are owned by Young Living & there is a $50.00 per hour fee to use them & they get cut down the end of July. Somehow I had no idea the fields were owned… you’d think the perfect lines in the lavender would have given it away. Lesson two; the sun goes away. Fast. I already knew this… but I got a firm reminder while we were driving around like crazy people trying to find a different spot to shoot. The light was fading quickly & the overcast skies were not helping my situation. Lesson number three; it’s either the sky or your subject. Because it was overcast I tried to really capture the beauty in the sky which made my sister too dark. I was bummed I didn’t realize this as we were shooting but what’s done is done & I did get amazing shots of her with the sky looking incredible.

We ended up stopping at a field that had a barbwire fence around it with one part fallen down & decided that was our spot. It was really hilarious seeing all three of us try to get over the fence, carry the dress over &  try not to die or get shot (Mel told us that there was a chance the people that owned the property might shoot us for trespassing). Luckily we all made it in & out safe.

We had so much fun on our little road trip to take these. Things didn’t go as planned but we made the most out of the situation & I learned an insane amount about photography & the style that I am striving for.

DSC_1181 DSC_1187 DSC_1211 DSC_1216 DSC_1199 DSC_1253 DSC_1232 DSC_1301 DSC_1327 DSC_1345

In the photo above Mel was totally sitting behind my sister & throwing her veil. It was hilarious & my sister was trying so hard not to laugh as I’m standing behind my camera busting up. I seriously love these girls so much & am so glad they’re apart of my life. Now, enjoy some wonderful selfies we took at the end of our adventure!


Untitled-2

Sometimes things don’t work out but you make the best of what you have. Is there a situation you’ve experienced that you had to make it work regardless of the challenges you were facing?

xoxo//a

3 thoughts on “Bridals: Little Sister

Leave a Reply

